Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Positively Autism Newsletter for November 2014

As I tell my readers I post the Positively Autism Newsletter when it comes out. I have not had a hand in writing anything that is below. I simply find the information extremely valuable. I suggest that you get on their newsletter list yourself.


Teaching Handwriting to Students with Autism

Announcements

Thanksgiving and Cyber Monday Sales in Positively Autism's Online Store
Check out some great discounts on our fun folder games, motivating token economy boards, visual supports and more! The sale is today (Monday 11/24), tomorrow (Tuesday, 11/25), and Monday, December 1st. Teachers Pay Teachers also often has a sitewide sale around Cyber Monday, so please check Positively Autism's Facebook page (link at the bottom of the newsletter) for a promo code for an additional discount if one is available! Visit our store here: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Nicole-Caldwell/. When you go to our store page, please click "Follow Me" next to the small star at the top of the page so you'll be the first to know when something new is posted!


Articles, Tips, and Resources

November Topic: Teaching Handwriting to Students with Autism
Some students with autism may display difficulties with handwriting. Possible reasons for this may relate to sensory processing and motor planning. Dysgraphia (which is not necessarily experienced by a person with autism) refers to difficulties in fine motor control that can result in poor handwriting skills. These difficulties can occur despite strong learning skills in other areas. Some students may also be less intrinsically motivated to participate in writing activities, so making these activities more motivating may be helpful. This month, we'll share articles, activities, and resources to make writing more motivating and fun to your children or students with autism. Although not necessarily specifically related to autism, we will also share some information and resources about dysgraphia.

Research: Children With Autism Show Specific Handwriting Difficulties - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/research-children-with-autism-show-specific-handwriting-difficulties

Additional Research on Handwriting and Autism - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/additional-research-on-handwriting-and-autism

Handwriting Without Tears - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/handwriting-without-tears

Understanding Dysgraphia - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/understanding-dysgraphia

Strategies, Accommodations, and Modifications for Dysgraphia - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/strategies-accommodations-and-modifications-for-dysgraphia

How We Taught Our Child with Autism to Write - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/how-we-taught-our-child-with-autism-to-write


Downloads/Printables/Resources

Upper and Lowercase Letter Formation Writing Guide - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/upper-and-lowercase-letter-formation-writing-guide

Cutting and Tracing Freebies from Positively Autism - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/cutting-and-tracing-freebies-from-positively-autism

Handwriting Word Work and Sentence Work Samples - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/handwriting-word-work-and-sentence-work-samples

Reading and Copywork for Kids Who Love Trains - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/reading-and-copywork-for-kids-who-love-trains

Recommended (and Fun!) Handwriting Workbooks - http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/recommended-and-fun-handwriting-workbooks


Thanksgiving Freebies (Social Stories, Activities, and More)

Thanksgiving Social Story - PDF http://www.positivelyautism.com/downloads/Thanksgiving_SocialSkillStory.pdf or PowerPoint (You can edit/customize the Powerpoint version).

Thanksgiving Vocabulary Flashcards- http://www.positivelyautism.com/downloads/Thanksgiving_Vocabulary.pdf

Thanksgiving Verbs Vocabulary Flashcards - http://www.positivelyautism.com/downloads/Thanksgiving_Vocabulary_Verbs.pdf

More Thanksgiving freebies can be found here: http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/freebies-community---thanksgiving.html


Free Downloads

Since Facebook isn't showing our Daily Autism Freebie posts to many of our followers (because they want Facebook pages to pay for sponsored posts), I'm listing some of our most popular freebies from the month here. You can go directly to http://daily-autism-freebie.blogspot.com/ each day to get the freebies without Facebook!

"Yes" and "No" Questions Practice - http://daily-autism-freebie.blogspot.com/2014/11/yes-and-no-questions-practice.html

Communication Cards for Between School and Home about Special Classes - http://daily-autism-freebie.blogspot.com/2014/11/communication-cards-for-between-school.html

Restroom Picture Schedule - http://daily-autism-freebie.blogspot.com/2014/10/restroom-picture-schedule.html


You can find a list of the articles and resources in this newsletter issue here: http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/blog/november-2014-newsletter-teaching-handwriting-to-students-with-autism

Remember to follow us on Facebook or Twitter for new free stuff posted each day!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! I'm so thankful to all of Positively Autism's subscribers.

Nicole Caldwell, M.Ed.
Founder, Positively Autism




Reference:
Developing Handwriting Skills for Individuals with Autistic Spectrum Disorder by Leicestershire Autism Outreach Service - http://www.leics.gov.uk/autism_handwriting_skills.pdf

Disclaimers:
Please note that all information contained in this and any of our newsletters is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as professional advice on any subject matter. If you need handwriting help for your children or students, please contact appropriate professionals, such as an occupational therapist.

The information provided in this newsletter is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as professional advice on any subject matter. If you have specific questions about your child, please contact the appropriate professionals, such as a BCBA, medical doctor, SLP, OT, or LPC. Read full disclaimer: http://positivelyautism.weebly.com/disclaimers.html