Monday, June 30, 2014

Elopement/Wandering Safety Information

I received this newsletter today. It contains alot of very important information about how to keep your child safe when dealing with elopement and wandering. It's a great newsletter and I recommend you subscribe.

We use ANGELSENSE.

Elise



From Positively Autism
June 2014 Topic: Autism and Wandering/Elopement
Elopement refers to a person leaving an area without notifying others, which may place that individual in a dangerous situation. Elopement, which is similar to the term wandering, is a common issue faced by the families and educators of people with autism.

This month, we'll continue our series on Autism and Safety by focusing on resources and information to help with elopement and wandering among students with autism.

http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/june-2014-topic-autism-and.html


Articles, Tips, and Resources

The Danger of Elopement/Wandering - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/the-danger-of-elopementwandering.html

Why is My Child Eloping and What Can I Do? - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/why-is-my-child-eloping-and-what-can-i.html

Tips to Help Prevent Wandering and Wandering-Related Tragedies - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/tips-to-help-prevent-wandering-and.html

Wandering Toolkits for Families and First Responders - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/wandering-toolkits-for-families-and.html

Create a Family Wandering Emergency Plan (Includes a Plan to Fill-In) - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/create-family-wandering-emergency-plan.html

Sample IEP Letter to Help Your Child's School Address Wandering - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/sample-iep-letter-to-help-your-childs.html

Research on Autism and Eloping/Wandering - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/research-on-autism-and-elopingwandering.html

Safety Products for Autism and Wandering - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/safety-products-for-wandering.html

Social Stories for Wandering/Eloping - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/social-stories-for-wanderingeloping.html

Caregiver Checklist Tool for Wandering/Eloping (How to Minimize the Risk) - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/caregiver-checklist-tool-for.html


 

Summer Downloads

Positively Autism's Summer Page! - http://www.positivelyautism.com/free/unit_summer.html

  • "What to Expect on Summer Break" Social Story
  • "Travis the Train Visits the Beach" Vocabulary Story
  • "Travis the Train Goes on a Summer Picnic" Vocabulary Story
  • Sunny Vocabulary Flashcards
  • "Train in the Sun" Vocabulary Story
  • Summer Songs Videos
  • More!

News

June 2014 Positive Autism News Stories - http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/june-2014-positive-autism-news.html


You can find a list of the articles and resources in this newsletter issue here: http://positively-autism.blogspot.com/2014/06/positively-autism-june-2014-newsletter.html